Sweet Sweet Corn

This is one of my favorite times of the year.  It’s pretty much a holiday in my book…Sweet Corn Season.  It ranks up there with the best.  It’s to the point that I can’t even look at corn in a can, let alone eat it.  It just doesn’t compare.  So, this year I thought I’d do a little documentation of what I do on this “holiday.”

For the last week I have been picking, shucking, cleaning, boiling, grilling, or eating sweet corn.  That’s just how it has to be.  If you’re from a farm, you know what I’m talking about.  You eat it until you just can’t eat it anymore, and then you put up the rest to be eaten in the winter when you’re dreaming about this time of year once again.  So, after eating quite a bit, I put up some sweet corn on my own and then spent an entire day of quality family time putting it up all together…so you can see both processes.

Here is my agnerd hauling our harvest…corn gets super heavy:).

image

This is about the cleanest this little girly was all morning.  Later on she managed to get mud everywhere, including inside her eye!

image

And, here’s my little farmer.  He would live out here if he could.

image

Time to enter in and start picking.

image

image

The perfect carrying unit is still up in the air…this one is not even close (a recyclable Sam’s bag), but it did the job.  I’ve used brown paper bags, laundry baskets, plastic Wal-Mart sacks…but my favorite is the newspaper carrier bags that my dad has.  They provide the least strain on your back!

image

image

So we get the best crop, there’s a little protection on our field…a radio (inside that cooler) and an electric fence.

image

Here’s half of the harvest I’m taking home.

image

image

Looking good…peaches and cream…YUM!

image

But there’s always the bugs.  Because we don’t spray our sweet corn, you get to be pretty friendly with these creatures.  You can’t see them very well in this picture, but there are about 5 little clear wormies eating my corn.

image

And then there’s this guy.

image

He kept my kiddos entertained for quite a while while I shucked corn in our backyard.  He even took a ride in the back of the sandbox firetruck.

image

After shucking (pulling off the husk), it’s ready to be cleaned.

image

image

Cleaned and into the boiling water they go…

After about 5 minutes or so, the corn comes out and gets dumped into an ice cold bath to stop the cooking process.And then, we’re ready to actually cut the corn off of the cob.  Everyone has their method, but here’s what I’ve found works best for me.  I have to have two tools: Pampered Chef’s Kernel Cutter and an angel food cake pan.
image

Find the right angle and slice away with the angelfood cake pan catching the goods.  Turn the tool around and use the plastic part to get off all of the excess/juices, etc.  I did modify my system slightly from the picture below and it made the job even easier when doing this with our family.  If you take the inside of the cake pan out and put it inside a large bowl, it catches all.  With just the cake pan, every once in a while, the corn would fly out.  Maybe I’m just a crazy corn cutter, but the large bowl made the job easier for me.

image

After it’s off the cob, you can scoop 2-4 cups into quart size freezer bags (based on how much you’d eat at a time), flatten them out, label, and freeze for your later enjoyment.

image

Now, here’s the real deal.  9 hours, 8 adults, 7 kids, a whole set up, & 157 bags of corn.  That’s how we did it with my agnerd’s side of the family.  Here are the pictures…

A bag full of corn too heavy to carry.

Shucking away.

My son’s abandoned shoes…left for the joys of mud.

Oh the mud!

This trio found “secret passageways” and all kinds of exploring to do while we picked corn.  Gotta love cousins.

Our strategy for hauling from field to shop.  This large tank is on a trailer pulled by a pickup.  Gotta love the multipurpose leaf rake.;)

Washing it clean and removing the silk.

This is about 1/5 of what we put up…maybe even less than that.  You should’ve seen all the corn!

It takes all the help you can get:)

I forgot to get a picture of actually blanching the corn, but that step would fit in here…then on to cutting off the cob.

Filling the bags.  Even my 3 month old niece gets in on the process.

Stacking to take home to the freezer.

The remains…

This is what we all felt like doing by the end!

And here’s a few of the beautiful faces that helped out along the way…

2 thoughts on “Sweet Sweet Corn

  1. Do you know another “nasty” from corn is SMUT? it grosses me out but sells for $1.40 a lb. I guess it is very nutritious. That makes my agbus guy laugh.

    • I grew up always running into smut when shucking our corn! It is definitely nasty, yet I had heard people eat it…not exactly something I could do. I had a hard time even touching it when I was younger!;) We haven’t run into that much with our sweet corn since we’ve been back farming…hopefully it stays that way!

Leave a Reply

